

Town of Paradise Valley

Legislation Text

File #: 20-159, Version: 1

TO: Chair and Planning Commission

FROM: Jeremy Knapp, Community Development Director

Paul Michaud, Planning Manager George Burton, Senior Planner

DATE: April 7, 2020

DEPARTMENT: Community Development

AGENDA TITLE:

Selection of Chairperson per Section 2-5-2 of the Town Code

RECOMMENDATION

I recommend [state name] to serve as the Planning Commission Chairman-designate.

BACKGROUND

Section 2-5-2.A of the Town Code states, "The Planning Commission shall, at its first meeting in April of each year, elect one of its members to serve as its Chairman-designate. The member designated to be Chairman shall be approved or disapproved for the Chairmanship by the Town Council within thirty (30) days of the election by the Commission. If the Chairman-designate is approved for the Chairmanship by the Town Council, he shall become the Chairman immediately upon such approval, and he shall serve as Chairman of the Commission (1) until a successor as Chairman is elected and approved in the following year, or (2) until the Chairmanship shall, for any reason, become vacant. If the Chairman-designate is disapproved for the Chairmanship by the Town Council, the Planning Commission shall, at its next meeting after such Council disapproval, elect another one of its members to serve as its Chairman-designate, and the member so designated shall be approved and become the Chairman or be disapproved pursuant to the procedures described herein. If, for any reason, the position of Chairman becomes vacant, then the Commission, at its next meeting after such position becomes vacant, shall elect a Chairman-designate for the remainder of the term, and the member so designated shall be approved and become the Chairman or be disapproved pursuant to the procedures prescribed herein. No member shall serve as Chairman of the Commission for a period of time in excess of two (2) consecutive terms."

Commissioner Jonathan Wainwright completed one (1) term as Chair (he was elected Chair on April 2, 2019).